Saint Joseph and the Beatitudes

Let us reflect and pray over the Beatitudes and meditate on how Saint Joseph practiced these virtues in his life with the Holy Family at Nazareth and in his workshop.

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of Heaven.

Blessed are those who are mourning, for they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall have their fill.

Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.

Blessed are the pure of heart, for they shall see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.

Blessed are those persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Saint Joseph, help me to use the things of this world with heaven in view. May I trust that God will be with me in all the events of my life, the joyful ones as well as the ones that may bring me sorrow. May I remember that humility is important. That I am God’s servant here on earth and that I am here to know him, to love him and to serve him in this world and to be forever happy with God for all eternity. May I conduct all my affairs with honesty and integrity and believe that God will provide for me the virtues that I need to accomplish his will. Let me have a heart that extends itself with mercy towards others as I would wish to be forgiven let me forgive. Keep my gaze fixed on the Lord, and continually live in his divine presence. May I always keep my eyes fixed on his will and work for my heavenly reward, that of seeing God face to face. When I hear of things about others, may I always be ready to defend their cause as I would wish to be defended. If I am unable to defend them, let me pray, at least, for their good. And when my faith is, at times, questioned, may I be able to answer with the conviction that I believe all that the Church teaches and want to be faithful to Our Lord, Jesus Christ. Amen.

3 thoughts on “Saint Joseph and the Beatitudes

Leave a Reply

